BANNER ELK AND BEECH MOUNTAIN

A Day in Banner Elk https://highcountry.guide/article/day-banner-elk

Buckeye Recreation Center on Beech https://beechrecreation.recdes... $5 day pass $20 weekly pass, playground, basketball gym, classes, hiking and events

Moutain Biking on Beech https://www.beechmountainresor...

Wilderness Run Alpine Coaster https://www.wildernessrunalpinecoaster.com/Alpine coaster open year round

Beech Mountain Trails https://sites.google.com/view/takeahike/nc/high-country/beech-mountain

Off the Grid Mountain Adventures https://www.offthegridmountainadventures.com/UTV rides and Go-kart racing

Wildcat Lake https://www.bannerelk.com/memb... mountain swimming and fishing hole and "beach"

Banner Elk Winery http://www.bannerelkwinery.com/ beautiful property and good wine, sometimes live music


BLOWING ROCK

Blowing Rock https://blowingrock.com/

Mystery Hill https://mysteryhill.com/ --various attractions, all age groups

Tanger Outlets https://www.tangeroutlet.com/blowingrock/stores--outlets


BOONE

Boone https://www.exploreboone.com/

Grandfather Mountain https://grandfather.com/


ASHEVILLE

Asheville https://www.exploreasheville.com/

The Biltmore Estate https://www.biltmore.com


LINVILLE AREA

Linville Caverns https://www.linvillecaverns.com/ --caves and bats, call to reserve

Old Hampton Store https://www.facebook.com/OldHamptonStore/ --BBQ, tavern and art galleries, sometimes live music

Linville Falls Winery https://www.linvillefallswinery.com/ --wine, food trucks and live music on summer weekends in a beautiful vineyard

Family Billiards https://m.facebook.com/Country-Retreat-Family-Billiards-346414148804709/--good casual food and lots of pool tables

Foscoe Gem Mining http://www.foscoeminingco.com/ --gem mining


RESTAURANTS--there are many, but these are some of our favorites

Beech Mountain

Famous Brick Oven https://www.famousbrickoven.com/ --Beech Mountain, pizza, bakery, mini golf, arcade—great for kids

Fred's General Store https://fredsgeneral.com/ General store with an assortment of souveniers, crafts, groceries, wine/beer and a cafe on the lower level

Alpen Restaurant and Bar http://www.alpenrestaurant.com/ upscale restaurant with beautiful views

Blowing Rock

Timberlake’s at Chetola Resort https://chetola.com/dining-2/ upscale dining, beautiful resort

Foggy Rock Eatery and Pub https://foggy-rock.com/ casual dining with varied menu

Banner Elk

Sorrento's Italian Bistro http://bannerelkvillage.com/sorrentos-italian-bistro/ --great Italian food and bar

The Pedalin Pig https://thepedalinpig.com/ --our favorite BBQ place

Bodegas https://www.bodegasbe.com/ Bodegas Restaurant— great Latin food and full bar, less than 1 minute from Banner Haven properties.

Einstein Bros. Bagels https://locations.einsteinbros... chain restaurant for good bagels, 1 minute from the Banner Haven properties.

Banner Elk Café and Tavern http://www.bannerelkcafe.com/ varied menu, great pizza

Upscale

The Gamekeeper https://gamekeeper-nc.com/ upscale and exotic menu

Chef's Table https://bannerelkvillage.com/c... Sorrento’s sister restaurant


LOCAL SHOPS AND ANTIQUE STORES--there are many, here are our favorites

Mast General Stores

https://www.mastgeneralstore.com/vallecrucis

https://www.mastgeneralstore.com/cms/index.cfm/history/boone/

Hidden Treasures at Elk Park http://www.hiddentreasureselkp... lots of carefully curated antiques, local candles, soaps and lotions

Those Were the Days Antique Mall 3440 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604--antiques

Front Porch Antique Market https://www.frontporchantiquem... antiques, local crafts and coffee/bakc shop

Boonies Old Country Store https://boonies-old-country-st... local crafts and food

Maw's Produce https://lettusproduce.wordpres... local crafts and lots of fresh produce and food

HIKING

Linville Falls Trails https://www.nps.gov/blri/planyourvisit/linville-falls-trails.htm --easy hike

Linville Gorge https://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/nfsnc/null/recarea/?recid=48974&actid=37

Cascade Trail – easy 1 mile hike off of the Blue Ridge Parkway https://www.exploreboone.com/outdoors/hiking/the-cascades/

Rough Ridge Trail – short uphill trail with great views of Grandfather Mountain and the Linn Cove Viaduct https://www.romanticasheville.com/rough_ridge.htm

Crab Orchard Falls – easy trail near Seven Devils https://www.alltrails.com/trail/us/north-carolina/crab-orchard-falls-trail

Green Knob Loop – moderate 2.5 mile trail near Blowing Rock https://www.alltrails.com/trail/us/north-carolina/green-knob-loop--2

Otter Falls -moderate 0.6 mile hike in Seven Devils https://www.sevendevils.net/nature-trails

Flat Top Mountain Trail – easy 4.5 mile trail https://www.alltrails.com/trail/us/north-carolina/flat-top-mountain-trail

Bass Loop Trail – easy 1 mile hike along lake near Blowing Rock https://www.alltrails.com/trail/us/north-carolina/bass-lake-loop-trail

Moses Cone Park Manor and Trails – beautiful mountain manor and miles of trails https://www.romanticasheville.com/moses-cone-park

Julian Price Park – 4200 acre park for camping, fishing and hiking https://www.blueridgeparkway.org/poi/julian-price-memorial-park/

Linn Cove Viaduct – off of mile 304 on the BRP https://www.blueridgeparkway.org/poi/linn-cove-viaduct/


RAFTING, KAYAKING AND TUBING

High Mountain Expeditions https://highmountainexpedition...

Wahoo's Adventures https://www.wahoosadventures.c...

River & Earth Adventures https://raftcavehike.com/


SKI, TUBING AND ZIP LINES

Beech Mountain Ski Resort https://www.beechmountainresort.com/ tickets available only in person on first come first served basis

Sugar Mountain Ski Resort http://www.skisugar.com/ tickets available only in person on first come first served basis

Appalachian Ski Resort https://www.appskimtn.com/ tickets and lessons available online

Hawk's Nest https://hawksnesttubing.com/ Snowtubing and Zipline—tickets available online

Jonas Ridge Tubing http://www.jonasridgesnowtube.com/--tickets available online


OTHER FAMILY FRIENDLY ACTIVITIES

Apple Hill Farm – working farm with family-friendly activities, goat yoga in the summer https://applehillfarmnc.com/

Turtle Island Preserve – educational experiences for children and adults https://www.turtleislandpreserve.org/

Valle Crucis Community Park – let the kids burn off energy on the playground, also features picnic shelters and wedding gazebo https://vallecrucispark.org/

High Country Lanes – family friendly bowling https://highcountrylanes.com/


TRANSPORTATION SERVICES

Appalachian Transportation Service https://appalachian-transportation-services.business.site/

High Country Car Service https://highcountryblackcarservice.com/services


RESTAURANT/GROCERY DELIVERY

Jordan 828-897-1566